The Daily Dish: The Kitchen Tools I Can’t Live Without

listen icon Listen to the Daily Dish

In the kitchen I like the basics so I don’t use a lot of gadets, but here are a few I would recommend to any amateur or professional for their kitchen:

1. For pasta I always use a simpe, inexpensive chicken wire spider skimmer on a bamboo handle to lift the pasta and vegetables from the water.

2. Metal tongs are another essential tool. When I am at the stove I always have a pair on hand, they are perfect removing long noodles, pieces of meat or fish, or just a quick stir.

3. Another treasure: My wooden spoons for mixing, stirring, and tasting.

4. And when your meal is ready to serve, have wine glasses handy and a nice bottle of Bastianich wine to toast.

Salute e buon appetito!
___________________________________________________________
lidia bastianichLidia Matticchio Bastianich was born in Pola, Istria, on the northeastern coast of the Adriatic Sea. She is a cookbook author, restaurateur, and TV chef extraordinaire. Watch Lidia’s Italy Saturdays at 1:30pm on WGBH 2 or Sundays at 4pm on WGBH 44.

One Response

  1. There’s two things I definitely have to agree with you in this post. Wooden spoons.. They really are good for anything and everything.

    The other is the glass of wine. Can’t cook without it! 😀

Leave a Reply

